logo

Who’s who? EB and office holders

Executive Board members

Ann Kingdom (Chair)

chair@indexers.org.uk

Ann has been a professional indexer, editor and proofreader since the mid-1970s, when she joined the Society. She has been involved with the governance of the Society since 1997, serving in a variety of capacities, which has given her a familiarity with almost every aspect of SI activities.

 

Janice Rayment (Vice Chair and Finance)

finance@indexers.org.uk

Jan trained as an indexer after a varied career in banking and horticulture.

 

 

Philippa Jevons (Secretary)

secretary@indexers.org.uk

Philippa qualified as an indexer in 2014 and has previously worked in drama, education, and the preparation of research transcripts and legal paperwork.

 

Ann Hudson (Training, and Practical Indexing Assignment Co-ordinator)

training@indexers.org.uk

Ann has been indexing professionally for over 30 years, and has been active in indexing training for nearly as long. She regularly leads workshops for the Society, as well as in-house workshops for publishers.

 

 

Paula Clarke Bain (Marketing and Publicity)

marketing@indexers.org.uk

Paula has been a professional indexer and editor for over 15 years. She enjoys the company of indexers and being an active member of the Society, most recently as joint lead organiser of the inaugural National Indexing Day.

 

Nicola King (Members’ Services)

members@indexers.org.uk

Nicola came to indexing after being an archaeologist, working for Which? magazine and managing elections. She enjoys the challenges that indexing presents.

 

 

Emma Caddy

Emma has worked in the publishing industry for many years and now works remotely indexing arts and humanities titles.

 

 

 

Rosemary Dear

Rosemary has been indexing for 25 years, after working first as a linguist at GCHQ and then as a library assistant in Gloucestershire libraries. She chaired the last local group committee to organise a conference, in Cirencester in 2014, and has subsequently been involved in conference organisation since joining EB.

 

 

Office holders

Paul Machen (Office Manager, Training and Workshops Administrator)

admin@indexers.org.uk

Paul has worked for the Society in various administrative roles since 2003, becoming Office Manager in 2010.

 

 

Maureen MacGlashan (Editor of The Indexer)

editor@theindexer.org

Maureen began indexing in 1987, cutting her teeth on a cumulative legal index, the latest 4-volume, 3000-page, version of which was published in July 2017. She joined the Society in about 1990, serving as President (2002-5), international liaison (2012-17) and since 2004 as editor of The Indexer. She is also convener of the PTG.

 

Susan Curran (Production Editor of The Indexer)

production@theindexer.org

W. Stephen Gilbert (Editor of Sidelights)

sidelights@indexers.org.uk

After a long career centred on text (as author, television drama producer, journalist, playwright, script editor, essayist, interviewer, blogger), Stephen retrained as an indexer a decade ago.

 

 

Jan Worrall (Training Course Co-ordinator)

tccoord@indexers.org.uk

Jan originally trained on the SI course and has been indexing for 18 years. She has been involved in a variety of SI committees, mostly related to professional development, and served on EB from 2008 to 2014. She has been a tutor for the training course for over ten years.

 

Ruth Ellis (Social Media)

publicity@indexers.org.uk

Ruth has been a professional indexer since 2010. She is the main coordinator of the Society’s LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook accounts and was the instigator of the first National Indexing Day. She is also the coordinator for the local Yorkshire Group.

 

Wendy Baskett (CPD Committee Chair)

cpd@indexers.org.uk

 

 

 

Pam Scholefield (International representative)

si@theindexer.org

Pam has built her indexing business over the past 11 years while also giving time to the Society in various committee roles.  She really enjoys coordinating the friendly Three Choirs group.

 

 

Kathryn O’Donoghue (Groups Co-ordinator)

groups@indexers.org.uk

Kathryn has worked as an indexer for 11 years. She also works as a translator and proofreader. She has coordinated the Wessex local group for around 8 years and has been the Groups Co-ordinator for 2 years.