The Bernard Levin Award

The Bernard Levin Award was established by the Society in the year 2000. It is made for outstanding services to the Society of Indexers and remembers the support given over many years to indexers by the prominent and respected journalist. The citation reads as follows:

The Bernard Levin Award of the Society of Indexers established to celebrate a journalist and author whose writings showed untiring and eloquent support for indexers and indexing.

This is followed by a personal tribute to the person receiving the award.


2017Jan Worrall
2013Ann Kingdom
2007Jill Halliday
2005John Halliday
2003Doreen Blake
2002Drusilla Calvert
2000Barbara Britton