The Betty Moys Award

The late Betty Moys MBE, distinguished indexer and formerly the Society’s Honorary Treasurer, left a generous legacy to the Society to provide an annual prize for a new indexer. The prize has been presented since 2002 to the best newly Accredited Indexer in the calendar year. The legacy itself is now at an end, but the Executive Board has decided to continue the award, and from 2012 the winner has received a year’s free Society membership, along with a Certificate. Certificates are also be presented to runners up.

All candidates who successfully complete the Training Course between 1 January and 31 December, based on the marking date of the Practical Indexing Assignment, are automatically considered. The successful candidate will have received high marks in all the test papers; the comments of Markers and Practical Indexing Assignment Advisers are also taken into consideration. The selection is made by the Training Course Committee and announced at the annual conference.


2019Melina Costi
  Highly commended Dino Costi and Non Lowri Evans
2018Angela Page and Helen Taylor
2017No winner
  Highly commended Tanya Izzard
2016Tessa Botha and Jan Heaton
2015Mhairi Gray
   Highly commended: Jim Shine
2014No winner
   Highly commended: Philippa Jevons
2013Melanie Gee and Cheryl Hunston
2012No winner
   Highly commended (in alphabetical order): Barbara Spina; Fiona Stables
2011Lucy Leicester
   Highly commended (in alphabetical order): Cathryn Pritchard; Janice Rayment
2010Marie-Pierre Evans
2009Sanet Le Roux
2008John Wintrip
2007Roger Bennett
2006Amanda Jones
2005Christopher Phipps
2004Pauline Davis, Sue Edwards and Louise Secker
2003Jonathan Marriott
2002Mary Jane Steer